Thinking About Technocracy

Where to from here?

Oxford University Press blog discusses the history of public health medicine

leave a comment »

I follow some of the big academic presses for reasons that sometimes escape me.  Oxford and Harvard are big enough that they are usually exciting in some way over a period of time.  One example is a current post on the history of medicine (really public health) in a new book by OUP.  I think I’ll check it out.  Finding origins of technocracy (a word I understand that arose in the 1930s) would be worth more of my time.  I’ve always been interested in public administration history, but that’s become something of a moribund pursuit.

Medicine and associate fields are invariably the domains where technocracy is most accepted.  Environmentalism and civil engineering follow I think.  Banking and financial regulations fall a distant third/fourth.

Written by ryanlanham

January 7, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

